Going Natural…YES WE CAN!!

May 18, 2010 The Princess
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

OOOOhhhhh…it’s a hot button topic to take the virginity of my blog!! I have heard people say (mostly men) that going natural is NOT for everyone.  I believe those people are wrong!! Going natural IS for everyone and anyone can do it.  I think that women get hooked on the feeling that a perm can give your hair. It makes your coarse hair straight. It bounces.  It shines.  It falls out.  Let’s be honest.  I had a perm for 20 years so I know what it can do.  The truth is, all of the benefits that we reap from chemically straightening the hair can be achieved without the harsh consequences.  It is not easy being natural, especially when transitioning, but it is sooooo much better for your hair.  People say going natural is not for everyone because some people do not look good with an afro.  But an afro is not the only look for naturals.  I am one, and I wear my hair straight all the time.  We, as women, may have to make the investment in our hair care.  It takes time to figure out what to do with the natural hair.  It takes time and money to find a good stylist but it can be done! We have to decide on what is important to us! Hair is important whether you think so or not.  No matter where you are or what you wear, if your hair is not done, then you will be what i like to call: a hot mess.  If you like your hair straight, I guarantee you that a good blow dryer, good flat iron (hot comb if necessary), and a good conditioner will have your hair bouncing and shining just like you had a relaxer, without the damage and eventual dryness. Moral of the story: The perm is a temporary fix.  Take time to find what works for you.  Do not give up.  If I can do it, you can do it.

-The Princess

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr Miriam Martin  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Great information. I wish I had gone natural much sooner. I am glad you caught that vision so early – and your NATURAL hair looks fabulous!

  • 2. Ms. Jones  |  June 7, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    I will agree and disagree…You can have a wonderful head of HEALTHY relaxed hair. It does take a professional or someone highly skilled to apply a relaxer to another person’s scalp, or shall I say, to their hair roots and hair shaft. A professional will know how to apply the relaxer to the HAIR and NOT the scalp. Your scalp will not absorb the chemicals UNLESS you have a cut in your head or any irritations, which in turn is no good for the client, this is also why the scalp should be based before applying any relaxer. More so, a professional stylist will know how long a relaxer should remain in someones head. Yes, I will agree that relaxes can strip your hair of it’s natural oils, BUT, it is your hair dressers job to replenish his or her clients hair with the nutrients their clients’ hair needs. For example, hair treatments like Rosemary treatments which is a GREAT treatment for the hair and scalp and BODY. Rosemary is absorbed into the scalp promoting a healty scalp whicH leads to healthy hair, relaxed or not! It’s like exercising…When we work out, we tend to sweat so we lose nutrients from our bodies and become dehydrated after working out… but to fulfill or replenish our bodies, we have to either eat or drink something that rejuvenates us 🙂

    As far as going natural, I feel as though some women are doing this because it is a fad now. Some of us are truly better off with relaxed hair because once some women go natural, they believe that they don’t have to do as much to it and in return, their hair begins to dry out, break off, and become unmanageable and unhealthy. Going natural is a process that is very difficult for a LOT of females. All females do not have the “Good grain” of hair to manage if they have gone natural. Taking care of natural hair is a tough process but through dedication and consistency of hair care and patience, then it can definitely be done.

    Overall, a woman can have a healthy head of relaxed hair, for example, me! My hair is relaxed and it is the healthiest it has ever been and I truly enjoy and embrace it!

  • 3. Shannon Cohen  |  July 1, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Please explain to me what a “good grain” of hair looks like or is composed of. The hair God gave you has no choice but to look good on you, it’s what you were born with. Not understanding your hair texture will result in hair loss, dry hair, or cause you to look a hot mess. I’ve seen women on both sides of the spectrum, relaxed and natural, with damaged hair due to the lack of knowledge of what it takes to keep it looking good and due to a lack of effort.

    I personally prefer my hair natural, however, whatever your decision may be I think you do yourself a great disservice by not gaining an understanding of your hair texture BEFORE applying chemicals to it.

  • 4. AGirlNamedGoys  |  December 12, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    The only post of yours I didn’t flinch at 🙂

    Peace & Abundance.

  • 5. JH  |  May 19, 2011 at 9:38 am

    how long have you been natural?

    • 6. Miriam Martin  |  January 12, 2013 at 4:18 pm

      Natural for years. Feel so much more free. Was slave to my hair. Wish I had done sooner. My hair would not have suffered so much trauma.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Blogroll

 
